23 Was a Good Year

Tomorrow is my birthday. Which means today is my last day of being 23 years old. So like any good learner, I’ve decided to take a look back on my last year. It’s been pretty good.

First I will start two days before I turned 23. On May 29th last year I had possibly the greatest night of my life. I was in Winnipeg for a U2 concert. We were probably only 30 feet from the walkway that surrounded the stage. I can’t even begin to describe the concert. It was just simply one of the greatest moments of my life.

Two days later my birthday came around. I was at a division Math PD in Weyburn. There was nothing really memorable about the PD, but we got a free lunch, so it wasn’t all bad. That same day the announcement came that the Winnipeg Jets were coming back into the NHL. So there’s a neat little piece of trivia for you. That June was when I convocated from the University of Regina with a Bachelor of Education degree. That summer I also experienced my best summer golf-wise. Every round I shout was in the 80s or 90s. During the fall I played hockey again for the first time in 3 years, I also took up curling.

Professionally it was a very good year. I am on my third teaching contract, I have a full-time position waiting for me in the fall. I think I have done a fairly good job of expanding my PLN, both online and offline. In February I was selected for the Hire ME Campaign “30 Under 30” people to follow on Twitter. That was pretty cool. I didn’t blog as much as I wanted to this year. But knowing me, that’s not really a surprise.

Sorry for all of the bragging about myself. I think I deserve one of these posts every now and then. Here’s hoping that 24 will be even better.

Leave a comment