Teachers Do Work Hard

Teachers work hard, I don’t think that we an deny that. I’m a teacher, there’s a good chance that you’re a teacher if you’re reading this. I’m just gonna go ahead and say it, teachers do work hard.

I read an article yesterday, Overwhelmed Canadian Teachers Quitting in Droves, and to be honest my first reaction was slightly negative. I’m only in my third year of teaching and I am already getting a little tired of hearing how hard teachers work. Maybe it’s because most of my friends are teachers as well, but I hear about it a lot. It seems to me like it’s some sort of competition among us, whoever works the most hours is the best teacher type of deal. I don’t think that the two of those correlate and it’s a tough argument for me. Because with our profession there is going to be times where we do a 12+ hour day at school. And if I did that everyday, then maybe I would leave the profession. But I don’t, maybe I’m the weirdo. I like to have my nights to hang out with my girlfriend and my dog. I wouldn’t say I’ve become the super teacher that I want to be (see my last post) but I also don’t hate my job.

The way I look at it is, don’t worry about the things that you can’t control. For example, many of my Sask teacher friends are off this week for their February break. My division has gone away for that this year. We get ours in March (we also don’t get an Easter break). I can’t do anything about that, the decision has been made so here we are at school. Why would I get upset about this? Was I a little mad when this calendar came out? Yes. Did I protest? No, whats the point?

Anyways, back to the article. There were some excellent points in there. They are totally right when they say that schools have changed over the years. I do feel like we, as teachers, are acting more as parents than we need to. I know in our school, homework is a big issue, and I’m assuming that this is the same all over the place. Kids aren’t doing as much school related things when they are at home. There’s nothing we can do about it. We just need to figure out what we can do in the brief amount of time we see them that will benefit them the most.

Teachers do work hard, we aren’t a 9-3 job, and we are teachers 24/7 365 days a year. That to me, is whats awesome about it. I don’t care if you come back to the school after supper and mark for 12 hours and then come in on the weekends and word for another 100 hours. I really don’t. What I want to see teachers do is to start telling people how awesome their job is. How they care so much about it that they will come in on a weekend and work for 100 hours. Which I might add is impossible, but that’s just how awesome teachers are, we can do the impossible.

2 thoughts on “Teachers Do Work Hard

  1. Pingback: Principal Smart's Blog | Getting Better At What We Do

  2. The sign of a good teacher IS one who talks positively about being a teacher. Well said Jordan. Thanks for your input.

Leave a Reply

